Composers Competition


PROVISIONS About the Organ Music Composers Competition «NEW CLASSICS - Organ Taurida» 2022

The Foundation «New Classics» and the Foundation «Tree of Life», with the support of Moscow State Conservatory P.I. Tchaikovsky, are holding the First International Composer Competition for creative youth to create musical works written specifically for the organ – «New Classics - Organ Taurida». The project received a Presidential Grant.       

On September 6th, 2021, Moscow is hosting the final of this large-scale international project, in which young composers from 40 countries took part: Russia, the CIS (Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Turkmenistan, etc.), Austria, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Hungary, Vietnam, Venezuela, Germany, Georgia, Denmark, Indonesia, Italy, Spain, Cameroon, Colombia, PRC, China, Latvia, Malaysia, Morocco, Mexico, Poland, Pakistan, Peru, Portugal, Serbia, USA, Turkey, Ukraine, Philippines, Faroe Islands, France, Croatia, Sweden, Ecuador, South Africa, etc.

The main task of the project is to identify talented young composers, to develop an interest in organ art among the Russian public, including young people.

The competition opens up new names of modern and classical organ musical art, gives young aspiring authors an opportunity to be heard in different cities of the country, creates an impetus for the creation of new musical works and their further promotion at concert venues around the world.

Almost 350 applications were submitted for the competition.

Applications for the competition "New Classics - Organ Taurida" were accepted from February to June 30, 2021, participation in the competition was free.

A competent jury consisting of leading organists, famous composers, masters of the arts, chaired by the renowned Spanish organist, composer-improviser, titular organist of the Sagrada Familia Cathedral (Barcelona) Juan de la Rubia, selected the best works to be performed at the final GALA - CONCERT on September 6th, 2021 in the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory. P.I. Tchaikovsky.        

The official prize fund of the Competition for Young Organ Music Composers "New Classics -"Organ Taurida"is 600,000 rubles.

Prizes are from the Foundation of the composer M. L. Tariverdiev, Foundation of the composer Vladislav Alexandrovich Uspensky, magazine «Organ», the Russian Horn Orchestra, Music Publishing House «Composer», Radio «Orpheus», Publishing House "Aurora", Kazan State Conservatory named after N.G. Zhiganov and much more.

  • The unique project will be completed in January 2022, it is planned:
  • international master classes in all kinds of organ art;
  • publishing of "Organ Taurida" scores and CD of music of the winning authors;
  • donation of a new printed musical edition to all higher musical educational institutions of the country;
  • creation of a digital library of new organ music "Organ Taurida";
  • a new website about organ art in the Russian Federation and an interactive map of the Organ Halls of Russia, a broadcast of organ concerts of the "Organ Taurida" marathon, a database of organists-performers, composers, arrangers, etc.

The archive of music, video and information materials on the created new Internet site is a help in the development of musical organ culture, and an opportunity to popularize the new school of composition and organ art in all countries.

In the fall and winter of 2021, a marathon of organ music by the project laureates will be held in more than 30 cities of the Russian Federation: Arkhangelsk, Belgorod, Vladivostok, Vladikavkaz, Veliky Novgorod, Vladimir, Volgograd, Essentuki, Yekaterinburg, Irkutsk, Yoshkar-Ola, Kazan, Kaliningrad, Kondopoga, Krasnoyarsk, Kostroma, Livadia, Lipetsk, Moscow, Nizhny Novgorod, Novosibirsk, Omsk, Perm, Pskov, St. Petersburg, Samara, Tver, Ufa, Khabarovsk, Khanty-Mansiysk, Chelyabinsk, Yalta, Yaroslavl.         

Dmitry Borodaev (Russia) "Ural Amethyst"

Eduard Kiprsky (Russia) "Ave Maria"

Moshe Ariel Ganelin (Russia) "Hasidim go to the Rebbe"

Elmir Nizamov (Russia) "Statue of Zeus, Litania"

Vladimir Rozanov (Russia) "Space for Peace"

Anastasia Chernova (Russia) "Renunciation"

Alexander Timofeev (Moldova / USA) "On Thin Ice"

Bruno Vlahek (Croatia) "Tocсata Festiva"

Dario Di Gregorio (Italy) "Sounds from stained glass windows, Toccata"

Eli Tausen á Lava (Faroe Islands / Denmark) "Reyði Tráðurin"

German Jose Gabriel Mercado (Argentina) "Fugue for organ"

Gerson de Sousa Batista (Portugal) "Tolstoy's Dream"

Krzysztof Jurczak (Poland) "Easter Variations"

Zoltán Májer (Hungary) "Korobeiniki"

Marc Migo (Spain) "Toccata Iberica"

Mathias Rehfeldt (Germany) "Finale"

Otto Wanke (Austria) "Stratus"

Salvatore Passantino (Italy) "Preludio Gregoriano"

Aleksander Szopa (Poland) "Toccata"

Veljko Nenadić (Serbia) "Two Pieces for Organ: Prelude, Toccata"


Chairman of the jury Juan de la Rubia - Principal Organist of the Basilica de la Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, a professor at the Catalonia College of Music (Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya (ESMUC);

Member of the Royal Catalan Academy of Fine Arts of San Jorge (since 2012, honorary organist of the Capella Taurida of St. Petersburg, concert organist and improviser.

Yuri Bogdanov - Honored Artist of the Russian Federation, Professor of the Gnesin Russian Academy of Music, soloist of the Moscow State Academic Philharmonic Society, pianist;

Maxim Karpets - composer, musicologist, associate professor of the Russian Institute of Art History, Corresponding Member of the International Academy of Informatization (UN), member of the St. Petersburg Union of Scientists;

Andrey Kolomiytsev - laureate of international competitions, organist, harpsichord player;

Pyotr Klimov - composer, member of the Union of Composers of Russia, laureate of the All-Russian Competition named after S. Prokofiev, associate professor of the Gnesin Russian Academy of Music, classes of composition, musical instrument classification (organology) and instrumentation;

Olesya Kravchenko - laureate of international competitions, organist;

Evgeniya Krivitskaya - organist, teacher, music critic and  journalist. Doctor of Art History, Professor of the Moscow Conservatory, member of the Union of Composers of the Russian Federation, Editor-in-Chief of the magazine «Musical Life»;

Sergei Polyanichko - conductor, artistic director of the Russian Horn orchestra;

Oleg Ptashnikov - conductor of the Opera House, pianist (Germany, Munich);

Irina Taimanova - Honored Art Worker, Professor of the St. Petersburg Conservatory, President of the Foundation for the composer Vladislav Uspensky;

Vera Tariverdiyeva - President of the Foundation «Composer Mikael Tariverdiev», musicologist;

Ivan Uryupin - the winner of the II All-Russian Competition of Conductors in Moscow (2015), the VIII International Competition of Conductors named after Georg Solti in Frankfurt (2017), a laureate of the International Competition of Conductors named after Gustav Mahler in Bamberg (2016), a prize-winner of many international competitions of clarinettists, including the most authoritative: in Geneva, Munich, Beijing, Ghent, Pretoria;

Anastasia Chertok - laureate of international competitions, organist, harpsichordist, winner of the Youth Prize «Triumph», teacher of the organ department of the Moscow Conservatory;

Andrey Sharov - composer;

Project partners: Radio "Orpheus", INTERMEDIA, Music Publishing House «Composer», Publishing house "Aurora", Capella "Taurida", Organ salon "M-BOX", Information agency "Musical Klondike", INTERSERVICE Company, Trip VR company, Planetarium No. 1 (St. Petersburg), etc. 

Organizing Committee of the Competition: +7(911)9292248; +7 (916)7527297